Consequences of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Nevada
Did you know that in the State of Nevada you will be prosecuted if you leave the scene of an accident? It is considered a criminal offense. The Nevada State law requires the individuals to remain on the scene of the crash even if they are not the negligent driver. If one of the parties involved leaves the place where the accident occurred, they would be held liable.
Under the Nevada State Law, the drivers involved in the accident must provide essential details such as their name and address, driver’s license, and VIN number of the vehicle. You must give the information to the police officer on the scene. Failure to present the information asked can lead to a traffic citation.
Here are several examples of Hit and Run accidents with their corresponding penalties.
Parked Car Hit and Run
Be wary of hitting a parked car unattended in Nevada. The negligent driver is legally obligated to find the owner of the vehicle, and if he can’t locate the owner of the vehicle, he must leave a note with contact information. The driver is also obligated to inform the police about the incident.
Hit and Run Accident
A hit and run accident can be charged two ways, as a felony or misdemeanor. If the damage done is only to the property, then the charge is only a misdemeanor. The charge would be a Category B felony if the accident resulted in physical injury or death.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Hit and Run Accidents
• Fine of up to $1,000
• 6 points against your license
• 6 months in jail
Penalties for Felony Hit and Run
A Category B Felony Hit and Run happens when the accident leads to the painful physical injury or death and then leaving the scene of the accident.
• License suspension or revocation
• $2,00 to $5,000 in fines
• 2 to 20 years in prison
The penalties mentioned can differ from case to case. There are several instances where there may be additional penalties like if the driver has previous convictions.
If you find yourself in situations like this one, it is best that you contact a Las Vegas hit and run accident attorney to assist you. If you are arrested for leaving the scene of the accident, keep in mind that you have the right to remain silent. You also have the right to have an attorney present to counsel you of your rights.
DUI Hit and Run Accidents
If the negligent driver is under the influence of drugs and alcohol and leaves the scene of the accident, the driver may face 2 to 20 years in prison with no possibility of probation. The negligent driver may be tried and punished separately for each victim who endured bodily injury or death.
Complex Hit and Run Cases
Complex hit and run cases occur when there are multiple injured victims are involved. There may be cases wherein the negligent driver along with others charges may be charged with vehicular accident, bodily injury and reckless driving.
School Zone Traffic Laws
Be wary when you are in school zones as traffic laws prohibit making U-turns in school zones and changing lanes while in school crossing areas.