It is without a doubt the most common traffic violation. It happens all the time. You are late for a meeting or an interview and so you just find yourself speeding. Before long, your car is pulled over and you get a ticket for speeding. Being a layman, you question nothing. Unknown to you, you have been charged with speeding in a category that can cause you more problems in your criminal record than you could ever imagine. In a nutshell, there are three main types of speeding limits.
- Absolute speed limit – This is extremely common. It is the type of speeding that people get charged with all the time. A good example is where a road sign states 65mph is the speed limit. Go just 1 or 2 mph over the posted sign and you have violated the law. You will be charged for over speeding.
- Presumed speed limit – This is also common, though not as common as absolute speed limit. It is used in just a handful of states like Texas and California. It allows you to drive over the speed limit as long as you drive safely. You have to keep the safety of other motorists in mind. For example, if the speed limit is 65mph, you can drive at 70mph. However, the judge can acquit you if you convince the court that the driving conditions at the time you were pulled over made driving beyond the speed limit safe.
- Basic speed theory – This gives the traffic officer the discretion to decide what is safe and what is not. For example, you can get arrested for driving within the speed limit when it is too foggy or when it is raining. The weather conditions in this case simply make driving within the confines of the speed limit unsafe.
With all these in mind, be cautious the next time you’re tempted to speed. Then always remember that what is permissible and legal in your state could be illegal in another. Find out what the traffic laws of the state you intend to visit are provided if you intend to stay there for long.
Leaving the scene of accident
Leaving the scene of accident stands out as one of the most serious traffic violations. It is also known as hit and run. This happens to be one of those few traffic violations where nearly all states have a consensus in their laws on what needs to be done. Most state laws provide that one must pull over when it is safe to do so and exchange insurance information or contact in the event of an accident. The only difference in different states is the procedure one should follow while reporting and filing a suit for a hit and run incident.
Where a person hits a stationary property or an unattended car, the legal provision is that the driver should leave a legible note with functional contact information. The law changes where there is an injured person. The driver has a duty to ensure that the injured person gets medical assistance. He must then report the accident to the police.
Failure to follow this standard procedure can easily get you a traffic ticket. It gets worse if your victim dies. The hit and run crime will automatically turn into a felony. So on top of the hit and run charge, you could be charged with homicide. Your best bet is to follow the standard procedure in the state of Nevada. Assist the injured person, then report the incident at a police station.
Other traffic violations
There are several other traffic violations that have huge sentences. Driving under the influence (D.U.I) is one of them. You can also be arrested for driving without a valid driving license or driving with a fake driving license.
Finding legal assistance
The smartest thing to do apart from reporting the matter to the authorities and assisting the injured person is to keep in touch with your lawyer. If and where possible, let the lawyer accompany you to the police station. It will then be easier for you to defend yourself in court. You can also be sure of a lesser sentence if the court finds you guilty.
Las Vegas Traffic Violations Attorney Dan Lovell of Empire Law Group, providing services for Drunk Driving, Traffic Violations, Casino Crimes, Drug Possession, Domestic Violence and Bad Checks. Contact us for legal advice.